nanaxtap.blogg.se

Warren zevon enjoy every sandwich letterman
Warren zevon enjoy every sandwich letterman






and she goes, 'You're here to see Prince? Right this way, he's behind that curtain.

Warren zevon enjoy every sandwich letterman how to#

Prince just challenged me to a game of ping pong.' So I show up and I go to this ping pong place and I go down the stairs and I go, 'uh hey,' I don't even know how to ask. And I’m saying, what part of baby does he not get? Questlove: He calls me and says, I’ll be there, at 12.30, and I tell him you just had a baby, and he says, ‘yeah, that’s nice, tell him I’ll be there at 12.30. So then Prince leaves and I’m thinking, what was this ping pong thing all about. I go, right, let’s bring it on man, he comes to the show, doesn’t even look at the ping pong table, performs that night, destroys it, has the greatest show ever, Kirk lent him his guitar and he broke it. So they call back and say, ‘he wants to play ping pong, but not on camera’Īnd they go, “Prince thinks Jimmy will be fun to play ping pong with.’ ‘Okay, fine, we’ll have it set up, just in case he feels like playing ping pong. They call back, ‘he doesn’t want to play ping pong’ Sure, as long as Prince wants to play music. They call back and say, ‘we’ve rethought it, Prince really wants to play ping pong’. So I say, ‘okay, sure’Īnd they call back and say, ‘no Prince does not want to play ping pong’ He's booked to come on the show, and his people say, ‘Prince really wants to play ping pong against Jimmy’,Īnd we don’t play ping on the show. You’re reminded to enjoy every sandwich, and every minute playing with the guys, and being with the kids and everything. I mean I always thought I did that, I always enjoyed myself, but it’s more valuable now. I mean, you put more value on every minute. How is the work now, living with this diagnosis? They certainly don’t discourage you from doing whatever you want? Letterman: To me, you look and seem remarkably healthy. Well it means you better get your dry cleaning done on special. I saw Warren Zevon on the Letterman Show. Letterman: ‘Oh my god, and it turned out not to be congestive heart failure. Enjoy Every Sandwich A Tribute to Warren Zevon by Jim Buckley 7/06. all the time’, and they’d say, ‘dont you ever watch the Sopranos?’īut when Dr Stan the dentist heard about it, he said, ‘it sounds like congestive heart failure or something, ‘ so he made me go to a doctor the next morning after he heard it. Teh only person that I ever go to is DrStan, you know Dr Stan, the dentist, and I always said if he can’t fix it, I’m screwed.Īnd I told Dr Stan that I was having shortness of breath, I had it for months, I did a short tour, went to Canada, and I would only hire people who would tell me it was stress.įlunked out medical students who became musicians, I’d say ‘Imshort of breath. Zevon paused, shook his head, and took a deep breathe, uttering a poignant maxim about life and death that hits right in the feels: Enjoy every sandwich. It was one of those phobias that really didn’t pay off. Letterman asked Warren if he had any wisdom about life in the face of certain death. First of all let me saythat I might have made a tactical error in not going to a physician for twenty years.






Warren zevon enjoy every sandwich letterman